PARADISE LOST to re-record “Icon” album for 30th anniversary.

You are currently viewing PARADISE LOST to re-record “Icon” album for 30th anniversary.

To celebrate the 30th anniversary of their fourth album, “Icon”, British Gothic Metal pioneers are re-recording the LP for a special new release. There will also be “an extra special vinyl” version of the album.

PARADISE LOST wrote on social media: ” ‘Icon’, our fourth album was released in 1993 and for it’s 30th anniversary, we’re re-recording it and doing an extra special vinyl release. That’s all we can share for now, but watch this space for more information and a few special announcements very soon!”

“Icon” marked a departure from the Death/Doom sound of PARADISE LOST’s early work and was the last album to feature Matthew Archer on drums.

In February 2018, “Icon” was inducted into the Decibel “Hall Of Fame”, with the magazine naming it influential to the development of the Gothic Metal subgenre.

Two months ago, PARADISE LOST welcomed Guido Zima Montanarini as their official new drummer. Last September, Finnish drummer Waltteri Väyrynen left PARADISE LOST to join OPETH. At the time, he issued a statement saying that his decision involved “absolutely no bad blood or drama whatsoever.”

PARADISE LOST’s latest album, “Obsidian”, was released in May 2020 via Nuclear Blast.

“Icon” track listing:

  1. Embers Fire
  2. Remembrance
  3. Forging Sympathy
  4. Joys of the Emptiness
  5. Dying Freedom
  6. Widow
  7. Colossal Rains
  8. Weeping Words
  9. Poison
  10. True Belief
  11. Shallow Seasons
  12. Christendom
  13. Deus Misereatur

You can listen to “Icon” in its entirety in the following video:

Leave a Reply