SOEN to release “Memorial” album in September.

You are currently viewing SOEN to release “Memorial” album in September.

SOEN have announced the release of their new album, “Memorial”, which will be available on September 1st via Silver Lining Music. The band has also dropped an official video fro the hard-hitting first single, “Unbreakable”. The new single is a statement of intent of what’s to come from the forthcoming album and sees the band take a much heavier approach but still retain their melodic sensibilities.

Founding member and drummer Martin Lopez comments: “ ‘Unbreakable’ is a song about how you limit yourself as a human, by blindly believing in something.”

Vocalist and co-founding member Joel Ekelöf continues: “Politicians and the media paint everything as black or white, entitling you to try to destroy your opponent instead of trying to find common ground. It’s key to be humble and open to different viewpoints to keep growing, ‘Unbreakable’ feels like a marriage between classic-metal and Soen.”

The new album has a potent drive and sees the band channel the ills of current society with a crisp, riff heavy ferocity but at the same time still showcasing Soen’s unique blend of progression, aggression, and beauty.

“Memorial” is drenched in melody with face-crushing guitars and rhythms from start to finish. Album opener, “Sincere”, starts off with relentless propulsion, whilst the sheer power of the title track is enriched with a solid groove, underlying the weighty tones and evocative vocals of Joel Ekelöf.

Finishing with the beautiful, tragic, Pink Floyd-esque ballad, “Vitals”, “Memorial” is arguably the band finding their best stride yet. SOEN have been building up to this moment for years and now they’re here with “Memorial”, which is an inspiring modern hard rock classic.

SOEN are completed by Lars Enok Åhlund (keyboards and guitar), Oleksii ‘Zlatoyar’ Kobel (bass) and Cody Ford (lead guitar) and are set to play at this year’s Download Festival on Sunday, June 11th, before embarking on the Memorial 2023 tour in Europe this September, with the newly added show at the Locomotiv in Bologna, Italy.

“Memorial” track listing:

  1. Sincere
  2. Unbreakable
  3. Violence
  4. Fortress
  5. Hollowed (feat. Elisa)
  6. Memorial
  7. Incendiary
  8. Tragedian
  9. Icon
  10. Vitals

You can watch the official video for “Unbreakable” below:

Leave a Reply