Phil Campbell – Old Lions Still Roar

You are currently viewing Phil Campbell – Old Lions Still Roar

Year: 2019
Total Time: 39:03
Label: Nuclear Blast

Some people just don’t need any introduction or long prologues. Even if for 30 years they live and create in the shadow of someone much greater (in every case here) their way is unique and very respectable. So, here we have Phil Campbell, the guitarist of MOTORHEAD for 30 years, who after their unavoidable demise in the end of 2015, he continued his musical road by creating a “family” band with the very distinctive name Phil Campbell and the Bastard Sons now got the time to make his long planned project for a solo album with lots of great special guests and full freedom to play as he likes, a reality.

After reading the album title and checking out the guests, if you wonder if the lions still roar, well, the answer is hell yeah! And I would dare to say that good or bad, here the old lions roar much louder than the young ones, some values remain strong and untouched through time.

Coming back to the album, this first solo effort of Mr. Phil, is a mix of traditional rock, hard rock and even heavy metal songs, all of them with different line up and guests, something like the older project Probot of Dave Grohl, back in 2004, but of course more traditional and old school in every way. From the classic metal of “Straight up” with Rob Halford, to the poser stuff “Swing it” with Alice Cooper and “These old boots” with Dee Snyder, the more modern tunes of “Walk the talk” with Nick Oliveri and “Dancing Dogs (Love Survives)”  with Whitfield Crane, the rock ballad “Left for Dead” with Nev Mc Donald and all the rest, we have a total of 10 songs that definitely should be heard by all the vast audience they are referring too, and its totally worth for everyone, not only MOTORHEAD fans, to discover this side of a great and important person of the hard sound.

I will just add the complete playlist to intrigue you if you have any doubts and just couldn’t be bothered, because you have to at least listen to this one time, surely more, it totally worth your time ! Lemmy himself encouraged Phil Campbell to do this work. It didn’t happen because of the very busy schedule of MOTORHEAD. Now Lemmy will be really proud!
01. Rocking Chair (Featuring Leon Stanford)
02. Straight Up (Featuring Rob Halford)
03. Faith In Fire (Featuring Ben Ward)
04. Swing It (Featuring Alice Cooper)
05. Left For Dead (Featuring Nev MacDonald)
06. Walk The Talk (Featuring Danko Jones & Nick Oliveri)
07. These Old Boots (Featuring Dee Snider)
08. Dancing Dogs (Love Survives) (Featuring Whitfield Crane)
09. Dead Roses (Featuring Benji Webbe)
10. Tears From A Glass Eye (Featuring Joe Satriani)

Rating: 7.5/10

Antony Livanios

Related Link: PHIL CAMPBELL – Official Page

Leave a Reply