VORNA release lyric video for new single “Kallioilla”.

You are currently viewing VORNA release lyric video for new single “Kallioilla”.

Finnish Melancholic/Melodic Metal act VORNA, has dropped an official lyric video for “Kallioilla”, the second single of their upcoming album “Aamunkoi”, set to be released on April 21st through Lifeforce Records.

The band comments on the song: “This song is one of those that almost wrote itself. After a trip to Northern Finland’s wilderness, I sat down by the lake at a summer cottage with a cup of morning coffee and a keyboard. Before sunset, I had the first demo and completely finished lyrics in my hands.

“Kallioilla” (On These Cliffs) captures the brief moment in the serenity of nature, when you can face yourself openly, let your thoughts flow freely, and let all things settle into proper proportion. We figured that releasing it today, on Finnish Culture Day, would do the song justice.“

Cover artwork by Petri Lampela

The music of VORNA from Tampere is as melancholic as sublimely gloomy. No wonder that the group has already toured or played shows with INSOMNIUM, WINTERSUN, KALMAH, THYRFING and WHISPERED. The sextet from Finland, active since 2008, enters with a majestic Metal sound that also features Symphonic and Folk accents.

The band’s fourth album stands out for its self-evident, breathing musicality. The lyrics are presented again in the Finnish native language of the musicians and support the mythical character of the tracks. The album title could hardly be more aptly chosen. “Aamunkoi” can be translated as “Aurora”. In literature, this means “The Dawn”. In the far north, where VORNA come from, this is also the name for the phenomenon of the polar lights. In both interpretations darkness and grace play a role. Astonishment and fear are also to be associated. Not everything can be grasped and cleary understood. Much remains in the indefinite and in the intermediate tones. This closes the circle to the Melancholic Metal of the six Finns and their nature-loving understanding of art.

n comparison with the debut “Ajastaika” (2013), the second album from 2015, “Ei Valo Minua Seuraa”, and the debut on LIFEFORCE RECORDS, “Sateet Palata Saavat” (2019), VORNA surpass themselves on “Aamunkoi”. All songs sound immensely multifaceted, accentuated and above all atmospheric.

The gloomy emotionality and fine melody lines of the band’s fourth album pull in their spell. The contrasting play between forward attacks and fragile atmosphere, which reaches deep, has lasting effects and impresses.

VORNA comment on the album: “Life is finite, unpredictable, and unfair. The album’s main theme is survival in the uncertain world where the lucky ones who get to witness a new day have a chance to strive for a better future – when they still can. Music-wise ‘Aamunkoi’ is VORNA’s most melodic work to date and we have once again broadened our musical horizon towards new territories on every instrument. “

“Aamunkoi” track listing:

  1. Hiljaisuus ei kestä
  2. Harva päättää hyvästeistään
  3. Valo
  4. Aika pakenee
  5. Kallioilla
  6. Muualle
  7. Raja
  8. Meri
  9. Aamunkoi

You can watch the official lyric video for “Kallioilla” below:

Leave a Reply