THE TROOPS OF DOOM unveil new single “A Queda” featuring João Gordo of RATOS DE PORAO!

You are currently viewing THE TROOPS OF DOOM unveil new single “A Queda” featuring João Gordo of RATOS DE PORAO!

Brazilian Death/Thrash Metallers THE TROOPS OF DOOM, featuring original SEPULTURA guitarist Jairo Guedz alongside bassist/vocalist Alex Kafer (ENTERRO, EXPLICIT HATE, ex-NECROMANCER), drummer Alexandre Oliveira (SOUTHERN BLACKLIST, RAISING CONVICTION) and guitarist Marcelo Vasco (PATRIA, MYSTERIIS, and acclaimed graphic artist for the likes of SLAYER, KREATOR, MACHINE HEAD, SOULFLY and HATEBREED), have released an official lyric video for their new single “A Queda”. The track comes from the band’s upcoming debut album, “Antichrist Reborn”, which is scheduled to be released on April 15th through Alma Mater Records.

Cover artwork by Sergio “AlJarrinha” Oliveira

“A Queda” is sung in Portuguese and featuring João Gordo, lead singer of RATOS DE PORAO, on guest vocals!

Guitarist Marcelo Vasco comments about the song: “This song is probably the most different on the record, not only because it is sung in Portuguese, but also because it has a more crossover approach, let’s say, mixing Punk and Metal. It’s a heavy, dirty song and has incredible energy. It was no wonder that right away we thought of inviting João Gordo to share the vocals with Alex. Everything fit like a glove and we are extremely happy with this track, that’s why we decided to choose it to be our second Single from THE TROOPS OF DOOM. Hope you all like it as much as we do. Lyric Video was created by the talented Wanderley Perna and directed by Jairo, where they wanted to rescue an aesthetic of the 20s cinema, combined with an inspiration from Pink Floyd and Nosferatu. Looks amazing!”

THE TROOPS OF DOOM feat João Gordo

Following two critically acclaimed EPs, “The Rise Of Heresy” (2020) and “The Absence of Light (2021), which has been lauded by both the international music press and fans alike, on “Antichrist Reborn” the THE TROOPS OF DOOM revisits the essence of ‘80s-style Death Metal, exploring a more primitive sound that takes its listeners back to that era, while remaining fresh, genuine, and ferociously heavy.

Jairo Guedz explains: “We are very happy that we are finally about to release our debut full-length album. We already have it composed basically since 2020 but due to the pandemic we ended up deciding to postpone its release. Now with most people vaccinated and restrictions easing, we expect 2022 to be a good year for the return of shows and touring. Fingers crossed! We’re confident about it and can’t wait to hit the road. The suggestive title of the album “Antichrist Reborn” has a strong connection with the song “Antichrist”, from my time at Sepultura back in the days, and of course, because our sound, that’s a rescue of that Death Metal aura from the 80s. By the way, the release date will be the Holy Friday, April 15th!“

“Antichrist Reborn” tracklisting:

  1. Dethroned Messiah
  2. Far from Your God
  3. Altar of Delusion
  4. Grief 01:05
  5. Pray into the Abyss
  6. The Rebellion
  7. Deserters from Paradise
  8. Apocalypse MMXXII
  9. A Queda
  10. Preacher’s Paradox
  11. The Usurper (CELTIC FROST cover)

You can watch the official lyric video for “A Queda” below:

Leave a Reply