THE MAGUS release debut album “Βυσσοδομώντας” | “Vissodomontas”.

You are currently viewing THE MAGUS release debut album “Βυσσοδομώντας” | “Vissodomontas”.

Greek Black Metal veterans THE MAGUS, are proudly presenting their debut album “Βυσσοδομώντας’ | “Vissodomontas”. The new offering is released via The Circle Music records today, October 31st, 2023, and it’s streaming in full via the Black Metal Promotion YouTube channel.

The cover art is a creation of Harnasash Singh and the recordings were made at PENTAGRAM studios by George Emmanuel (LUCIFER’S CHILD), who is responsible for the mixing and the production.

Cover artwork by Harnasash Singh

Hailing back to 1989, Greek Black Metal outfit NECROMANTIA was founded by the two musicians Baron Blood (bass) and The Magus (vocals, guitars, keyboards). The band’s music was characterized by a mix of Black Metal and Death Metal, with elements of Greek folk music and classical music. Over the years, NECROMANTIA had undergone several line-up changes, but the band continued to release albums and tour, becoming one of the most respected and influential black metal bands from Greece!

Following the tragic death of Baron Blood in 2019, The Magus decided to disband NECROMANTIA by releasing their final album “To The Depths We Descend” in 2021. But The Magus’ personal musical and mystical journey did not stop here. The inner black flame, which urges The Magus to create dark and extreme art which is expressed through music and lyrics, never ceased to burn.

In the summer of 2022, The Magus decided to give birth to a new musical project, entitled simply and appropriately; THE MAGUS. Joined by long-time associates, El (SOULSKINNER, ZARATUS, THOU ART LORD , PRINCIPALITY OF HELL etc) on guitars and Maelstrom (NECROMANTIA, YOTH IRIA, THOU ART LORD , PRINCIPALITY OF HELL) on drums in order to complete the formula and start working on material for the upcoming album to be released later this year!

“Βυσσοδομώντας” track listing:

  1. This is My Church (The Sign of the Serptagram)
  2. The Fall of Man
  3. Lux Tenebrarum: The Illuminating Darkness
  4. Βυσσοδομώντας
  5. Idolatrous Discord
  6. Ama Lilith
  7. Negative Renaissance
  8. The Peacock King
  9. Give the Devil His Due: The Story

You can listen to “Βυσσοδομώντας’ | “Vissodomontas” in its entirety below:

Leave a Reply