Swedish Death Metallers VOMITORY return with new album “All Heads Are Gonna Roll”.

You are currently viewing Swedish Death Metallers VOMITORY return with new album “All Heads Are Gonna Roll”.

In any serious conversation about Death Metal the name VOMITORY has to come up. Following their inception in 1989, between 1996 and 2011 they dropped eight of the most blistering albums the genre has spewed up, the quartet parting ways in 2013. However, the band’s retirement turned out to be short lived, returning to stages in 2019 to celebrate the band’s 30th anniversary, and now they drop their first new full-length in twelve years, the monstrous “All Heads Are Gonna Roll”. The record will be released on May 26th through Metal Blade Records. For a first preview the band has unveiled an official video for the title track of its upcoming album, directed by Marcus Svensson.

Boasting the classic VOMITORY sound with a few new twists and turns, it is everything their faithful could have hoped for, the band having taken their time before committing to it rather than rushing in. “We weren’t feeling any pressure, it was rather about making a decision whether we should continue as a band, i.e. release new material, or simply put the band back in the grave again,” explains drummer Tobias Gustafsson. “We wrote a few songs first just for the fun of it, to see if we still ‘had it’, before we made the final decision to continue and make a new full-length album.”

Cover artwork by Giannis Nakos (Remedy Art Design)

The album is self-produced and was recorded in the band’s rehearsal space. Rather than use a professional recording studio, the band opted for a mobile setup that was manned by Mats Lindström. Going this route, according to the band, allowed them to take their time with the new record.

Gustafsson also touched on the band’s approach to death metal 12 years later, saying: “One thing in particular we did was to try to build distinct choruses in the songs, which is something we didn’t put too much effort into earlier. We have also spent a lot more time working with the backing vocal arrangements, which we certainly think paid off very well. It brings something new to our sound. We have also tried to write more straightforward riffs, like we did in the early 2000s.”

“All Heads Are Gonna Roll” track listing:

  1. All Heads Are Gonna Roll
  2. Decrowned
  3. Ode to the Meat Saw
  4. The Deepest Tomb
  5. Piece by Stinking Piece
  6. Raped, Strangled, Sodomized, Dead
  7. Dead Man Stalking
  8. Disciples of the Damned
  9. Dead World
  10. Beg for Death

You can watch the official video for “All Heads Are Gonna Roll” below:

Leave a Reply