STRIGOI stream new EP “Bathed In A Black Sun” in advance of release date.

You are currently viewing STRIGOI stream new EP “Bathed In A Black Sun” in advance of release date.

STRIGOI were already plenty unsettling on their debut album. After all, this band includes current and former members of PARADISE LOST, EXTREME NOIR TERROR, SATYRICON and CARCASS. But the UK Death/Doom band’s follow-up pushed their grinding asphyxiations to such vile extremes, that it produced an abundance of putridity.

“Bathed In A Black Sun” includes four unreleased or exclusive songs from the recording sessions for their last album ‘Viscera’, which was mastered by Brad Boatright and mixed by Kurt Ballou. The title track oozes pure, unadorned filth, slimed with sludge riffs and a crusty drum groove, while other songs spew punkish riffs atop leather-spiked d-beats.

Cover artwork by Brian Sheehan (Legerdemain Art)

” ‘Bathed In A Black Sun’ is part bridge, part exorcism”, writes No Clean Singing. “STRIGOI will always have that big pit-riff bubbling up just inside them and they have to unleash it somehow”.

STRIGOI’s terrifying new EP comes out this Friday, November 3rd via Season Of Mist. But seeing as it’s Halloween, they’re treating our blackened sweet tooths with an early taste of all five tracks.

“We’ve been dying to release this EP as a companion to ‘Viscera’,” says the band’s bassist Chris Casket. “Enjoy these extra cuts of raging spite and cold despair.”

“Bathed In A Black Sun” track listing:

  1. Bathed in a Black Sun
  2. The Grotesque
  3. Beautiful Stigmata
  4. A Spear of Perfect Grief
  5. The Construct of Misery

You can listen to “Bathed In A Black Sun” in its entirety below:

Leave a Reply