SCHIZOPHRENIA release cover of MISFITS’ “Bullet”.

You are currently viewing SCHIZOPHRENIA release cover of MISFITS’ “Bullet”.

Antwerp, Belgium based Death/Thrash Metallers SCHIZOPHRENIA, have released the cover of MISFITS “Bullet”, alongside an official music video. The track is taken from the band’s upcoming tribute EP “Chants Of The Abyss”, which will see the light of day on February 10th.

“Chants Of The Abyss” features six cover songs and personal interpretations of timeless classics by cult acts such as SLAYER, JUDAS PRIEST, MISFITSs, EXODUS, GBH and MORBID ANGEL, bands that paved the way for many out there and shaped an entire scene.

Cover artwork by Mario Lopez

Vocalist and bassist Ricky Mandozzi vommnets on the track: “Extreme Metal in its early conception has been deeply rooted in Punk, giving to Metal its rawness and shock value. MISFITS and especially the song ‘Bullet’ is both shocking and very raw, a perfect example of Punk influences in Metal. Personally when I first listened to ‘Bullet’ as a teenager it was like being struck by lightning. I always thought the music had a sort of eerie vibe and the lyrics were so gruesome they would perfectly fit in a Death Metal song. Perfect match for me! This is why when we eventually came up with the idea of recording a cover EP, ‘Bullet’ was one of the first that came to mind. By recording it I was finally able to give my own interpretation with vocals to a song that I never got tired of listening over the years. I tried to do it my way, how I always felt it. I hope you’ll have fun listening to this one as much as we did going back to some of our deepest roots.“

“Chants Of The Abyss” track listing:

  1. Necrophiliac (SLAYER cover)
  2. Maze of Torment (MORBID ANGEL cover)
  3. Metal Meltdown (JUDAS PRIEST cover)
  4. Bullet (MISFITS cover)
  5. Strike of the Beast (EXODUS cover)
  6. Race Against Time (GBH cover)

You can watch the official music video for “Bullet” below:

Leave a Reply