PESTILENCE re-record classic songs for “Levels Of Perception” Best-Of album.

You are currently viewing PESTILENCE re-record classic songs for “Levels Of Perception” Best-Of album.

Dutch Death Metal veterans PESTILENCE, have re-recorded twelve emblematic anthems from across their 38-year career for a new album called “Levels Of Perception”. Due on April 26th via Agonia Records, the effort will be preceded by a three-week long headlining tour of Europe, which kicks off on April 3rd.

Patrick Mameli – whose signature vocal, guitar and songwriting skills constitute the hallmark of PESTILENCE – finds “Levels Of Perception” to be a testament to the band’s role in Death Metal’s progression. “I’ve always wanted to do a best-of album, because it would mean that I’ve achieved something in the past; something that still has its value today,” Mameli reflects. “To be able to choose from songs that I composed in the distant past, transporting them into the now, with the line-up of the recordings that consisted of Michiel van der Plicht (drums), Rutger van Noordenburg (guitar) and Joost van der Graaf (bass) – I found this to be of great value and sheer awesomeness.”

Cover artwork by Peter Suchy

Re-recording of the tracks has not only managed to breathe new life into them – half thanks to new line-up, and other half by implementing subtle changes which reflect Mameli‘s matured vision and refined with years of experience aesthetic – but also sets them apart from cheap, unimaginative compilations, by unifying the album’s sound as befits a full-length release. “The album’s title is ‘Levels Of Perception’. Why? Because this is what has happened with the songs,” Mameli explains. “Performed by different musicians, with their own views, musical abilities and interpretations, shining a new light on them. So here we are with new ‘Levels Of Perception’.”

The drums for “Levels Of Perception” were recorded by Michiel van der Plicht in 2021, during a live stream held in T Paard (The Hague, NL). “These recorded drum tracks were so awesome that we just had to use them, fine-tuning the guitars and bass,” Mameli comments. These and other re-recordings were done with Reaper behind the console at van der Plicht‘s own studio On Duty in Mijdrecht, NL. The latter engineered, mixed and mastered the album. “I’ve started to realize, after recording Exitivm, that when you can engineer, mix and master by yourself, the control over your own product is way bigger, through the honesty and passion for your own compositions; rather than hiring an engineer that has no feel for your music,” PESTILENCE’s frontman wraps up.

“Levels Of Perception” track listing:

  1. Horror Detox
  2. Mvlti Dimensional
  3. Mobvs Propagationem
  4. Sinister
  5. Dehydrated
  6. Dominatvi Svbmissa
  7. Land of Tears
  8. Necromorph
  9. Deificvs
  10. Twisted Truth
  11. Sempiternvs
  12. Ovt of the Body

Leave a Reply