ON THORNS I LAY to release self-titled album in October – New single “Newborn Skies” available.

You are currently viewing ON THORNS I LAY to release self-titled album in October – New single “Newborn Skies” available.

Greek Atmospheric Death Doom Metal band ON THORNS I LAY are announcing the first details of their new self-titled album “On Thorns I Lay”. The album will be released on October 13th via Season Of Mist and a first track “Newborn Skies” is now available in the form of a lyric video.

ON THORNS I LAY comment on the new track: ” ‘Newborn Skies’ is talking about this critical moment in life when you need to reconsider, reanimate and restart in order to keep going and follow your dreams . No matter how dark the ride has been, no matter how difficult and obscure, you have to take the final decision you still have your fate in your hands.”

Their music style is pure Atmospheric Melodic Doom Death Metal!

ON THORNS I LAY started as a Death Metal band together with other cult bands in Greece in the early 90’s such as ROTTING CHRIST, SEPTICFLESH, NECROMANTIA, NIGHTFALL and started to spread their name in the local and global underground scene.

The band has released 9 albums so far such as “Orama”, “Crystal Tears”, “Aegean Sorrow” and “Threnos” gaining great reviews in (Scream Norway, album of the month, Inferno Finland 5/5, Metal Storm Top 5 albums of 2020 and many others…). They have shared the stage with great bands such as DREAM THEATER, IN FLAMES, ANATHEMA, AMORPHIS, KATATONIA, ROTTING CHRIST, TIAMAT, THE GATHERING, SATYRICON, SEPTICFLESH and many more… The band’s last album “Threnos” (2020) followed the path of atmospheric, yet emotional Doom Death Metal – paying tribute to the roots and representing the trademark sound of the band once again. ON THORNS I LAY continue to tell dense stories of loss and despair.

After their mini tour at the Baltic states with ROTTING CHRIST in 2022, ON THORNS I LAY finished the recordings of their 10th album which will be released in the Fall of 2023.

“On Thorns I Lay” track listing:

  1. Fallen From Grace
  2. Newborn Skies
  3. Crestfallen
  4. Among The Wolves
  5. Raise Empires
  6. Thorns Of Fire

You can watch the official lyric video for “Newborn Skies” below:

Leave a Reply