Norwegian Black Metallers TSJUDER announce new album “Helvegr”.

You are currently viewing Norwegian Black Metallers TSJUDER announce new album “Helvegr”.

Norwegian Βlack Metal legend TSJUDER is now unveiling the album details of their god defying new creation “Helvegr”, which will be released via Season Of Mist on June 23rd. In celebration, TSJUDER is releasing the very first track “Gods Of Black Blood”, which comes in the form of an ice cold Black Metal music video.

TSJUDER comments: “Today Gods of Black Blood from our forthcoming album ‘Helvegr’ is unleashed. This is raw Norwegian Black Metal! Choke on it!

The album will be released on various physical formats, such as cd digipack and coloured vinyl, but also limited edition clamshell box (cd) and LTD vinyl box. These limited edition come with a bonus album “Scandinavian Black Metal Attack” in which TSJUDER pays a special ode to BATHORY.

Cover artwork by Jonas Svensson and Laura Nardelli

Since their inception in 1993, Oslo’s TSJUDER have been responsible for some of the most hate-filled ferocity perpetrated under the banner of TRUE NORWEGIAN BLACK METAL.

The band’s unholy fire was initially lit when founding members NAG (vocals/bass), BERSERK (guitar) and DRAUGLUIN (guitar) grew weary of playing Death Metal and sought out engorged levels of extremity to sate their increasingly profane ambitions. The time was ripe to inaugurate a ceaseless campaign committed to an uncompromising strain of brutally Raw Black Metal, influenced by the primal Thrash blasts of SODOM, KREATOR, DESTRUCTION, SARCOFAGO and early SEPULTURA; Black Metal first wave trailblazers such as BATHORY and HELLHAMMER; and, most vitally, MAYHEM’s seminal “Deathcrush”, and DARKTHRONE’s game-changer, “A Blaze In The Northern Sky”.

TSJUDER would take a deserved hiatus in 2006, with members finding other musical outlets for their creativity; Nag launching heretical Black Metal outfit KRYPT. Draugluin and Anti-Christian doing time with the thrashier TYRANN. But it wouldn’t be long before the irresistible call of TSJUDER would exert itself once more. The band reconvened, reenergised and eager to make up for lost time.

TSJUDER quickly set about creating the follow-up to “Antiliv”, but musical differences and protracted disputes led to a parting of the ways, with Anti-Christian bowing out after an impressive 20-year tenure with the group. Undaunted, Nag and Draughluin enlisted doyen tub-thumper JON RICE to provide the requisite drum artillery and continued to work on new recordings – fine-tuning guitar tones and sharpening mixes.

Then COVID-19 struck, the pandemic further stymieing the album’s release as the world tumbled from its fragile axis. But humanity is now benignly settling into its most chronic phase of perpetual abnormality and TSJUDER are steeled again to hoist their inverted cross above the barricades of conciliation. Their latest opus, “Helvegr”, is a devastatingly savage offering, one which fully adheres to the band’s eternal credo of “NO FUCKING COMPROMISE”.

“Helvegr” track listing:

  1. Iron Beast
  2. Prestehammeren
  3. Surtr
  4. Gamle-Erik
  5. Chaos Fiend
  6. Gods of Black Blood
  7. Helvegr
  8. Faenskap og Død
  9. Hvit Død

You can watch the official video for “Gods Of Black Blood” below:

Leave a Reply