MENTAL CRUELTY unveil music video for new single “Nordlys”.

You are currently viewing MENTAL CRUELTY unveil music video for new single “Nordlys”.

German Black Metal / Blackened Deathcore act MENTAL CRUELTY, has unveiled an official video for its new single “Nordlys”, directed by Daniel Fischer and produced by Aurora Motion Pictures. The track is taken from the band’s upcoming album “Zwielicht”, due for release on June 23rd via Century Media Records.

“Nordlys” describes the tale of the Nordic afterlife, where ancient deities and restless spirits reign with almighty wrath. Follow the journey of souls rising up to heaven, but beware the phantoms of the afterlife and the omen of bane.

MENTAL CRUELTY, comments on the new single: “The song ‘Nordlys’ is about ancient sagas of the northern lights, interpreted differently by Vikings and Norwegian tribes. These tales interpreted the lights in the sky in different ways. We should approach new situations positively, remembering fear often lies in our heads. Musically, it’s not a typical MENTAL CRUELTY, song, with an acoustic guitar intro and orchestration setting the mood. The song ends with a guitar riff that will make you want to headbang.”

Across four releases, beginning with 2016’s “Pereat Mundus” EP, MENTAL CRUELTY has woven together a violent tapestry of Black Metal, Death Metal, Deathcore, and a madness of their very own. With 2021’s landmark LP, “A Hill To Die Upon (Unique Leader)”, the German quintet not only set a new standard for themselves, but also the genre as a whole.

Rising from the ashes of personal and professional chaos, MENTAL CRUELTY spent the first half of 2021 seeking out a voice to continue to cement them an as uncompromising force in the German Metal scene. After locking in Lukas, the band (rounded out by guitarists Nahuel Lozano and Marvin Kessler, bassist Viktor Dick and drummer Danny Straßer) reemerged bloodied but unbowed, ready to continue on their path to becoming an international force.

Armed with new vocalist Lukas Nicolai, MENTAL CRUELTY usher in a new epoch of unlight and grim determination that’s at the heart of their upcoming album, “Zwielicht” (translated in English as “Twilight”). Once again working with producer and mixer Josh Schroeder (LORNA SHORE, OV SULFUR, SIGNS OF THE SWARM, THE BROWNING), they’ve pushed their sound to new blacker intensities forged in emotional riffing, heavy “back to the roots” breakdowns, and epic orchestral arrangements that surpass the already elite standards that have become synonymous with their name.

“Zwielicht” track listing:

  1. Midtvinter
  2. Obsessis a Daemonio
  3. Forgotten Kings
  4. Pest
  5. Nordlys
  6. Mortal Shells
  7. Zwielicht
  8. Symphony of a Dying Star
  9. The Arrogance of Agony
  10. A Tale of Salt and Light

You can watch the official video for “Nordlys” below:

Leave a Reply