MENTAL CRUELTY announce new album “Zwielicht” & unveil music video for “Forgotten Kings”.

You are currently viewing MENTAL CRUELTY announce new album “Zwielicht” & unveil music video for “Forgotten Kings”.

German Black Metal / Blackened Deathcore act MENTAL CRUELTY, has unveiled an official video for its new single “Forgotten Kings”, produced by Aurora Motion Pictures ane directed by Daniel Fischer. The track is taken from the band’s forthcoming album “Zwielicht”, due for release on June 23rd via Century Media Records.

MENTAL CRUELTY comment on the new single: “This song is inspired by the Greek Prometheus saga or comparatively the story of the Lost Sinner from ‘Dark Souls’. It tells the story of a man that is shackled to a mountain summit. He stands for the feeling of being trapped and isolated and feeling guilty about it. The evil chord progressions combined with huge orchestral ornaments and fast-paced blast beats will give you a feeling of listening to almost old-schoolish Black Metal with a modern twist.”

They add on the album release: “Let us embrace a new era of darkness by bringing the ‘black’ into Blackened Heavy music. Join us on the way down to infernal gates of hell to be rebirthed back to life. The album will contain the most mind-bending variety of different Heavy musical influences and sounds. Epic symphonic orchestras accompanied by slam breakdowns; this will have it all. Inspired from metaphors written by nature, death, and inner demons.

We can´t put into words the level of excitement we feel by announcing this album to you. We hope you feel the same way! Thank you for being with us and stay tuned for upcoming news!”

Across four releases, beginning with 2016’s “Pereat Mundus” EP, MENTAL CRUELTY has woven together a violent tapestry of Black Metal, Death Metal, Deathcore, and a madness of their very own. With 2021’s landmark LP, “A Hill To Die Upon (Unique Leader)”, the German quintet not only set a new standard for themselves, but also the genre as a whole.

Rising from the ashes of personal and professional chaos, MENTAL CRUELTY spent the first half of 2021 seeking out a voice to continue to cement them an as uncompromising force in the German Metal scene. After locking in Lukas, the band (rounded out by guitarists Nahuel Lozano and Marvin Kessler, bassist Viktor Dick and drummer Danny Straßer) reemerged bloodied but unbowed, ready to continue on their path to becoming an international force.

Armed with new vocalist Lukas Nicolai, MENTAL CRUELTY usher in a new epoch of unlight and grim determination that’s at the heart of their upcoming album, “Zwielicht” (translated in English as “Twilight”). Once again working with producer and mixer Josh Schroeder (LORNA SHORE, OV SULFUR, SIGNS OF THE SWARM, THE BROWNING), they’ve pushed their sound to new blacker intensities forged in emotional riffing, heavy “back to the roots” breakdowns, and epic orchestral arrangements that surpass the already elite standards that have become synonymous with their name.

 “Zwielicht” is coming. MENTAL CRUELTY’s reign of darkness is just getting started!

“Zwielicht” track listing:

  1. Midtvinter
  2. Obsessis a Daemonio
  3. Forgotten Kings
  4. Pest
  5. Nordlys
  6. Mortal Shells
  7. Zwielicht
  8. Symphony of a Dying Star
  9. The Arrogance of Agony
  10. A Tale of Salt and Light

You can watch the official video for “Forgotten Kings” below:

Leave a Reply