Japanese RYUJIN (ex-GYZE) release new single “Raijin & Fujin” feat. TRIVIUM’s Matthew K. Heafy!

You are currently viewing Japanese RYUJIN (ex-GYZE) release new single “Raijin & Fujin” feat. TRIVIUM’s Matthew K. Heafy!

Formerly known as GYZE, Japanese “Samurai Metal” band RYUJIN have been reborn – signing a worldwide contract with Napalm Records!

After four highly acclaimed albums and worldwide appearances at large festivals, RYUJIN have developed their own identity, expressed with accents of traditional Japanese instruments and lead guitarist Ryoji Shinomoto’s incredible shredding technique and ripping vocals.

Today the band unveiled an official video for their new single “Raijin & Fujin”, featuring TRIVIUM’s Matthew K. Heafy. The track is taken from the band’s upcoming self-titled album, which will be released on January 12th, 2024.

On the new album, high speed riffs and breakneck guitar descents pair with traditional Japanese elements, delivering a sound influenced by everything from ancient orchestral Gagaku to even modern anime themes. “Ryujin” features production by Matthew Kiichi Heafy (TRIVIUM) and mixing/mastering by Mark Lewis, with guest appearances by Heafy (vocals and conducting on various tracks) and Mukai Wataru of the Kansai Philharmonic Orchestra (cello).

RYUJIN mastermind Ryoji Shinomoto says about the album and new single: “This is the first album of the evolution from GYZE to RYUJIN! We want everyone to enjoy Samurai Metal from the Far East! Produced by Matthew, it opens new doors for us and we are honored to release it on the legendary Napalm Records!”

Featured guest Matthew Kiichi Heafy adds: “RYUJIN delivers music unlike anyone else on the planet. It was their original sound that initially grasped my attention and left me needing to have more and more of what they do. I am humbled and honored to have been able to contribute to this upcoming masterpiece… this opus! This is the album the world needs.”

The name RYUJIN comes from the Japanese Dragon God King with the same name. In Japanese lore, Ryujin freely moves heaven and earth, moves the clouds, blows the wind, and makes it rain. The Dragon God King also controls the flow of weather, ocean currents, and geothermal heat.

“Ryujin” track listing:

  1. Hajimari
  2. Gekokujo
  3. Dragon, Fly Free
  4. Raijin and Fujin (Feat. Matthew K. Heafy)
  5. The Rainbow Song (Feat. Matthew K. Heafy)
  6. Kunnecup (Feat. Mukai Wataru)
  7. Scream of the Dragon
  8. Gekirin
  9. Saigo No Hoshi (Feat. Matthew K. Heafy
  10. Ryujin
  11. Guren No Yumiya (Feat. Matthew K. Heafy)
  12. Saigo No Hoshi (feat. Matthew K. Heafy)

You can watch the official video for “Raijin & Fujin” below:

Leave a Reply