INSOMNIUM to release “Songs Of The Dusk” EP in November.

You are currently viewing INSOMNIUM to release “Songs Of The Dusk” EP in November.

Music, essentially, is a weapon to destroy the walls we built around us – and Finnish Metal melancholists, INSOMNIUM, are amongst its strongest wielders. Their ninth masterpiece, “Anno 1696”, released in early 2023 led us deep into the dark and troublesome past of Northern Europe, a time of witches, of superstition, of bloodlust and frenzy. And of werewolves.

On November 3rd, INSOMNIUM continue the epic story of “Anno 1696” on their addendum-like EP, “Songs Of The Dusk”, featuring 22 minutes of music and three more journeys into a dark and foggy past.The band has dropped an official video for the title track of their upcoming EP, which will be reelased through Century Media Records.

“We simply had eleven great songs, and we thought that this material is too good to be ‘just’ bonus tracks,” Niilo Sevänen (bass, vocals) states. “They are part of the big story, so you can think of them as the director’s cut material that tells a little extra. For those who want to have more.”

Cover artwork by Sami Makkonen

Mixed by Jaime Gomez Arellano (Orgone Studios) and mastered by Tony Lindgren (Fascination Street Studios), Anno 1696 and the matching “Songs Of The Dusk” are by far their most accomplished, emotionally rattling, soaring achievements.

Originally “Songs Of The Dusk” was a part of the Ltd. Deluxe 2CD Artbook of “Anno 1696”, but it is now available separately as: Ltd. CD Digipak, LP with etching on side B and as Digital EP.

The band comments: “As the album would have been too long, we left these three tracks out on the initial version, yet they are part of the ‘Anno 1696’ story and complement it and some of the gaps are being filled. ‘Songs Of The Dusk’ offers an alternative ending, so people can decide which kind of mood they prefer. This version is a bit more hopeful and less tragic, at least on a general INSOMNIUM scale – everyone is dead…except the wolves.”

“Songs Of The Dusk” track listing:

  1. Flowers of the Night
  2. Stained in Red
  3. Song of the Dusk

You can watch the official video for “Song Of The Dusk” below:

Leave a Reply