IMMORTAL unveil lyric video for new single “Wargod”.

You are currently viewing IMMORTAL unveil lyric video for new single “Wargod”.

IMMORTAL have unveiled an official lyric video for new single “Wargod”, taken from their upcoming tenth studio album “War Against All”, due to be released on May 26th via Nuclear Blast Records.

The band ́s founder Demonaz stated about the track: ” ‘Wargod’ is the heaviest song on the album. CELTIC FROST’s album, ‘To Mega Therion’, from 1986 was an inspiration to me this time. Some of it’s classic tracks had heavy opening riffs that developed into fast devastating fury and tempo. I wanted to capture that feeling again, the IMMORTAL way. When I moved to the mountains in 2019, I went through some of my old material and unused lyrics. ‘Wargod’ was one of them. The title, lyric and song ideas were originally from the early nineties, and now finally Immortalized on the album.”

Cover artwork by Mattias Frisk

Demonaz offers some more background on the process of making “War Against All”: “Even though the studio work is necessary to get an ultimate recording, the writing process is obviously my favorite. I still write all the guitar riffs/music at home with the same old vibe, and the lyrics as well. The early days of Black Metal inspire me the most. Cold nights in the woods, on the mountains under the winter moon. That’s what keeps the spirit alive, and the foundation to all our music.”

The album was produced in Bergen, Norway, at Earshot & Conclave Studios.

“It’s actually the same studio where I recorded the guitars and vocals for ‘Northern Chaos Gods’. They also did a great job with the new album, and it was a pleasure to go back and work there again. I am especially pleased with the outcome on this one. It’s got that cold-biting guitar sound, yet powerful production. IMMORTALhave never compromised on the original vision, which is taking fans on a journey through Blashyrkh with our most grim and dark music, with every new release. These songs are no exception to this. I am proud of the final result, it ́s got a distinct expression, and I can ́t wait to let the fans hear it!

“War Against All” track listing:

  1. War Against All
  2. Thunders of Darkness
  3. Wargod
  4. No Sun
  5. Return to Cold
  6. Nordlandihr
  7. Immortal
  8. Blashyrkh My Throne

You can watch the official lyric video for “Wargod” below:

Leave a Reply