CANDLEMASS release new single “When Death Sighs”.

You are currently viewing CANDLEMASS release new single “When Death Sighs”.

Swedish Doom Metal legends CANDLEMASS, have unveiled an offiical lyric video for their new single “When Death Sighs”. The track is taken from the band’s upcoming album “Sweet Evil Sun”, due for release on November 18th through Napalm Records.

Recorded at NOX studio in Stockholm, Sweden, “Sweet Evil Sun” impressively showcases that, after almost 40 years in the game, the creativity of these Swedish doom masters sees no bounds. Through the power of wall-shaking riffs, incredible vocal performances and the blood and spirit of classic Heavy Metal, “Sweet Evil Sun” shines as a masterpiece of impending legend that truly honors the Epic Doom Metal cult of CANDLEMASS.

Cover artwork by Erik Rovanperä

After releasing the hammering first single, “Scandinavian Gods” and the Heavy Doom successor track “Sweet Evil Sun”, it’s time to unveil the next appetizer “When Death Sighs”! Lethargic riffs announcing the ominous arrival of death, while Jennie-Ann Smith, mesmerizing vocalist of Edling’s brainchild AVATARIUM, accents the song’s shimmering, blood-freezing chorus lines. With no exit out of the situation, the haunted atmosphere is supported by an amazing guitar solo closing the dark chapter of the death’s breath, underlined by an eerie lyric video to capture this dark feeling visually.

After working on this massive piece of art for 18 months in total, with “Sweet Evil Sun”, CANDLEMASS brings back all the grandness of their early years, exploring themes of ambition and strife, hope and failure. It comes as no surprise that, alongside the band, renowned producer Marcus Jidell captured the band’s massive, smoky guitar tones, powerful drums and larger-than-life vocals, offering a truly unique, high quality sonic experience.

Leif Edling adds about the new album: ” ‘Sweet Evil Sun’ is about hope, striving, adoration and failure. It’s about all the personal battles that you have, but also the never-ending decay of humanity. The record took over a year to make and there’s not a bad track on it! We had a fantastic time recording it and are really looking forward to the release. It’s Doom, it’s Metal! It is the essence of CANDLEMASS put into one album.”

“Sweet Evil Sun” track listing:

  1. Wizard Of The Vortex
  2. Sweet Evil Sun
  3. Angel Battle
  4. Black Butterfly
  5. When Death Sighs
  6. Scandinavian Gods
  7. Devil Voodoo
  8. Crucified
  9. Goddess
  10. A Cup Of Coffin (Outro)

You can watch the official lyric video for “When Death Sighs” below:

Leave a Reply