BRYMIR release lyric video for new single “Herald Of Aegir”.

You are currently viewing BRYMIR release lyric video for new single “Herald Of Aegir”.

Finnish Melodic Death Metallers BRYMIR, have unveiled “Herald Of Aegir”, the second single of their upcoming album “Voices In The Sky”, out on August 26th via Napalm Records.

The track comes along with a visually palpable lyric video and skillfully portrays BRYMIR’s multifaceted nature, combining tight guitar lines and delicate orchestration with a dark and raging Melodic Death Metal storm fueled by Viktor Gullichsen furious vocal attack. The song’s storyline is a mythology-adorned stance against the destruction of our environment and the pollution of our oceans, a strong message transported throughout their music.

Cover artwork by Tuomas Valtanen

Viktor Gullichsen comments: “Growing up in Finland, the land of a thousand lakes, I’ve always had a special relationship with water. I spent a big part of my childhood in the archipelago, eating what fish we caught – but today the fish are mostly gone and if we keep polluting the oceans there will soon be nothing left. This song is a reminder that we are approaching a point of no return, especially for some of the more sensitive species. The song’s title refers to salmon, the finest catch of our ancestors and the greatest beast lurking in the depths of the Baltic Sea – but perhaps they won’t be around for much longer… Treat our oceans with respect – or the Herald of Aegir will get you!”

“Voices In The Sky” marks a hefty next level creation in the vein of ENSIFERUM, WINTERSUN and CHILDREN OF BOTOM, but serves as a more modernized answer to the Melodic Death Metal equation with massive production, deep grooves and air-tight technicality. Nevertheless, BRYMIR continues to draw inspiration from traditional genres like folk and classical music, all brought together perfectly at the hands of the band and producer mastermind and singer Viktor Storm Gullichsen at JKB Studios, with mastering helmed by Tony Lindgren at Fascination Street Studios.

Formed in 2006, the five-piece – featuring lead guitarist Joona Björkroth (BATTLE BEAST), frontman, writer and producer Viktor Storm Gullichsen, drummer Patrik Fält (FEASTEM, ex-AFGRUND), guitarist Sean Haslam and bassist Jarkko Niemi – began to stir up the scene in 2011 with their debut “Breathe Fire To The Sun”, uniting Folk Metal influences with cinematic soundscapes and hard hitting, fast-paced melodic death impacts.

“Voices In The Sky” track listing:

  1. Voices in the Sky
  2. Forged in War
  3. Fly with Me
  4. Herald of Aegir
  5. Rift Between Us
  6. Landfall
  7. Borderland
  8. Far from Home
  9. Seeds of Downfall
  10. All as One
  11. Diabolis Interium (DARK FUNERAL cover)

You can watch the lyric video for “Herald Of Aegir” below:

Leave a Reply