BORKNAGAR drop music video for new single “Nordic Anthem”.

You are currently viewing BORKNAGAR drop music video for new single “Nordic Anthem”.

Norway’s pioneers of Avant-garde and Progressive Black Metal, BORKNAGAR, have dropped an official video for new single, “Nordic Anthem”, created by Marius Martinsen, Kenneth Williams and Lars A. Nedland via the production company High & Low. The track is taken from the band’s upcoming album “Fall”, which will be released on February 23rd, 2024 via Century Media Records.

“So many gods. So many beliefs. So much conflict,” the band says about the track. ” ‘Nordic Anthem’ is about rejecting any kind of doctrine, religious or political. It’s about going to your own nature, your inner core, and finding strength and freedom. Our perspective is a northern one — we’re from the north, after all — but this is a firm stance that is universally applicable. It’s about finding and trusting your own values, your own heritage, and standing up against gods and authorities trying to push doctrine to control you, or corrupt you. This is our collective anthem. We won’t bend our knee to any god!”

Cover artwork by Eliran Kantor

“Fall” includes eight majestic tracks across 54 epic minutes of playing time, once again brilliantly mixed by Jens Bogren/ Fascination Street Studios (OPETH, AMON AMARTH, KREATOR) and featuring stunning album cover artwork by Eliran Kantor (TESTAMENT, MY DYING BRIDE, SODOM).

BORKNAGAR founder and mastermind Øystein G. Brun comments about the new album: “We are extremely proud to present you all with our twelfth album entitled ‘Fall’, another chapter of our musical journey. In many ways, ‘Fall’ represents a continuation of ‘True North’, but as always, we are pushing further and afar to seek even broader and more challenging horizons. Musically, we are loyal to our musical legacy, but we have most certainly walked through fire and ice to reach our highest peak yet. Although ‘Fall’ represents a wide array of musical and lyrical ideas, the fundamental theme behind the album is based on the fascination and appreciation of the very outskirts of life. Those places, and those beings, in the vast periphery of our own existence that very few live to see or even learn to know about- but still are profoundly essential for our existence. With ‘Fall’, we seek to portray and cherish all that holds up and pushes boundaries – against the great fall.”

“Fall” track listing:

  1. Summits
  2. Nordic Anthem
  3. Afar
  4. Moon
  5. Stars Ablaze
  6. Unraveling
  7. The Wild Lingers
  8. Northward

You can watch the official video for “Nordic Anthem” below:

Leave a Reply