BLODHEMN reveal new single “Velg Din Gift”.

You are currently viewing BLODHEMN reveal new single “Velg Din Gift”.

Norwegian Black Metal act BLODHEMN, has released “Velg Din Gift”, the second single of its upcoming album “Sverger Hemn”, due for release on October 7th through Dark Essence Records.

The project from multi-instrumentalist Invisus, sees the Norwegian musician apply his trademark aggressive sound to what will be BLODHEMN’s fourth full-length album. Only this time he has expanded that sound to produce an album that mixes Black Metal and Thrash with a well-judged serving of Rock’n’Roll.

Invisus comments on the track: ” ‘Velg Din Gift’ is loosely based on the quote ‘find what you love and let it kill you’, or, pick your favourite poison so to speak. A rock n’ roll fuelled track about self-destruction and hell raising!”

Cover artwork by Misantropic Art

On “Sverger Hemn”, Invisus draws his inspiration from the area of Norway he knows best – Holmengraa on the island of Fedje. Indeed, both visually and musically the material on the album is a natural progression from BLODHEMN’s previous releases and explores aspects of being taken by the sea and of drowning.

Whilst, with his use of different kinds of vocals and keyboards in order to explore various elements, Invisus has, without a doubt, left his comfort zone on a couple of the tracks on “Sverger Hemn”, he has ensured that BLODHEMN still remains true to the essence of Black Metal on an album that has been a long-time in the making.

Once again Invisus plays every single instrument and handles the vocals on “Sverger Hemn”, with the drums being recorded in 2020 at the Conclave & Earshot Studio, and the rest of the instruments and vocals recorded at the Over Evne Studio. BORKNAGAR’s Øystein G. Brun handled the mixing and mastering which was done at the Crosound Studio.

“Sverger Hemn” track listing:

  1. Fraa djupet…
  2. Vil livet av deg
  3. Bomb bergen
  4. Farvel Feioey
  5. Opp or lemmen
  6. Velg din gift
  7. Tid

You can listen to “Velg Din Gift” in the following video:

Leave a Reply