BLACK LAVA drop live video for “Baptised In Ice”.

You are currently viewing BLACK LAVA drop live video for “Baptised In Ice”.

Emerging Australian Blackened Death Metal quartet BLACK LAVA, has dropped a live video for their performance of the song “Baptised In Ice”. The song is taken from the band’s debut opus, “Soul Furnace”, which was released in November 2022 via Season Of Mist and landed coveted chart placements for the Australian Independent Record Labels Association, debuting at #2 on the 100% Independent Albums chart and #4 on the Independent Label Albums chart! Additionally, “Soul Furnace’ was named among Sick Drummer Magazine’s “Favorite Drumming Albums of 2022!”

Founded by drummer Dan Presland (VIPASSI, AMDBL, ex-NE OBLIVISCARIS) and guitarist Ben Boyle (VIPASSI, AMDBL, HADAL MAW), BLACK LAVA draws influence from Old School Death and Black Metal bands while injecting groove-laden melodies and progressive elements to create their own experimental sound.

Cover artwork by Paolo Girardi

As the pair fleshed out more ideas, they turned to their good friend Rob Watkins of BLACKHELM to fulfill vocal duties. “Within 10 minutes we had found a vocalist and the search for a bassist was on. Tim Anderson was found pretty quickly and was keen to jump on board the idea also, so within a very short time frame we had a full lineup, a record ready to go, and four guys full of enthusiasm to push something new.”

Sharing a diverse love for Black Metal, Death Metal, and Progressive music, the quartet quickly found their sound and hit a stride. And thus, “Soul Furnace” was born – a searing 34-minute aural assault that conjures up nostalgia while still sounding fresh and current. While the record promises to usher in a new musical era of the 2020s with its forward-thinking and contemporary energy, the lyrics dwell somewhere between fantasy and the old world.

“Soul Furnace” track listing:

  1. Origins
  2. Aurora
  3. Black Blizzard
  4. Baptised in Ice
  5. Eye of the Moon
  6. Northern Dawn
  7. Necrocatacomb
  8. Nightshade
  9. Soul Furnace

You can watch the live video for “Baptised In Ice” below:

Leave a Reply