AUTOPSY drop animated lyric video for new single “Throatsaw”.

You are currently viewing AUTOPSY drop animated lyric video for new single “Throatsaw”.

AUTOPSY have dropped an animated lyric video for teir new single “Throatsaw”. The track is taken from the band’s forthcoming album “Ashes, Organs, Blood And Crypts”, due for release on October 27th via Peaceville Records.

One of the longest running Death Metal acts active today, and an inspiration for whole generations of depraved metal maniacs the world over, AUTOPSY formed in 1987 in San Francisco (with drummer/vocalist Chris Reifert originally being a part of the genre-defining Floridan act, DEATH), and released four albums on Peaceville Records – beginning with the classic debut “Severed Survival” in 1989 – before disbanding in 1995, with members going on to form the equally disturbed “Abscess”.

AUTOPSY officially returned after a fifteen year hiatus with the 2010 EP, “The Tomb Within”, followed closely by fifth studio album, “Macabre Eternal” in 2011, which set them on a new bloodthirsty trail, with the reinvigorated intent of creating more of the sickest and most twisted and uncompromising music ever to grace a turntable, and the band has remained prolific ever since.

Cover artwork by Wes Benscoter

Hot on the heels of 2022’s universally lauded opus, “Morbidity Triumphant”, which was also the first release to feature new bassist Greg Wilkinson (also currently joined by Chris in Death Doom duo STATI ABYSS), the US Death Metal greats now return for a new sermon of sickness, with “Ashes, Organs, Blood And Crypts”; brutal bouts of riffery marked by the feral attack of the undisputed master poet of everything macabre, Chris Reifert.

Eleven tracks of pure audial attack, punctuated by frenzied soloing courtesy of guitar maestros Eric Cutler and Danny Coralles amid classic all-out Death Metal fury going straight for the jugular, interspersed with brooding doom-styled descents into delirium.

“Ashes, Organs, Blood And Crypts” was recorded at Sharkbite Studios by Scott Evans and Greg Wilkinson, with additional tracking and mixing carried out at Earhammer studios by Greg Wilkinson. Mastering work was once more carried out at Ken Lee mastering. Carrying on with recent tradition, the cover artwork was created by the suitably morbid mind of Wes Benscoter (BLOODBATH /SLAYER).

“Ashes, Organs, Blood And Crypts” track listing:

  1. Rapid Funeral
  2. Throatsaw
  3. No Mortal Left Alive
  4. Well of Entrails
  5. Ashes, Organs, Blood and Crypts
  6. Bones to the Wolves
  7. Marrow Fiend
  8. Toxic Death Fuck
  9. Lobotomizing Gods
  10. Death Is the Answer
  11. Coagulation

You can watch the animated lyric video for “Throatsaw” below:

Leave a Reply